Chowan Fellow Association Awards 2020

The Chowan Fellows Association held its annual awards program Tuesday evening via Zoom. Below are the award winners:

Fellows Chowan Award
The Fellows Chowan Award recognizes a faculty or staff member for exceptional dedication to the Fellows Program students through mentoring. 
Edward Snyder, Associate Professor of History.

Fellows Sua Sponte Award
The Sua Sponte Award, which is the motto of the Chowan Fellows Association, recognizes exceptional contribution to the success of the Chowan Fellows Association.
Tatyana M. Corprew and Dionna L. Scott

Fellows Service Award
The Service Award recognizes a Chowan Fellow who has demonstrated exceptional motivation, innovation, and involvement in service to the university and the wider community.
Dangelo N. Greenfield and Diamond L. Martin

Academic Award
The Academic Award is given to a member in recognition of exemplary academic achievement.
Breauna D. Johnson and Leadership Award

Leadership Award
The Leadership Award recognizes a Chowan Fellow who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in the association and at the university.
 Zyon W. Pye and Jayden Riley

Fellows Award
The Fellows Award recognizes exceptional contribution to the success of the Chowan Fellows Association. 
Jasmine R. Basnight and Nastassja D. Morton

 Outstanding Fellows Program Awards
The Outstanding Fellows Program Awards are presented to members of each class. The certificate reads: “The Outstanding Fellows Program Award is presented in recognition of leadership, service to the University, and contribution to the Fellows Program and Chowan Fellows Association"

Outstanding Fellows Program Sophomore Award
Alyssia J. Howard
Nicholas B. Major
Sayvion L. Mckoy

Outstanding Fellows Program Junior Award
Dangelo N. Greenfield
Nidia G. Hernandez
MeShaun A. Kenney
Charmeka D. Little
Diamond L. Martin
Malcolm J. Mason
Zyon W. Pye
Jayden Riley
Ana G. Salgado

Outstanding Fellows Program Senior Award
Jasmine R. Basnight
Kiana N. Bowditch
Alijah D. Clark
Tatyana M. Corprew
Shawndredi I. Hairston
Breauna D. Johnson
Eileen A. Mealing
Nastassja D. Morton
Serenity K. Nichols
Tunisha T. Pender
Dionna L. Scott
Mary E. Shomper
Jaliyah N. Sinkler
Zoe  M. Walker

Recognition of Chowan Fellows Association Executive Committee Members
Certificates of Appreciation are presented to members of the 2020-2021 Chowan Fellows Association Executive Committee. The Certificate reads: “This certificate of appreciation is presented with deep appreciation of devoted service and faithful leadership.”

SGA Rep, Tatyana M. Corprew
Cultural Literacy Activities Chair, Zoe  M. Walker and Alyssia J. Howard
Service Programs Chair, Shawndredi I. Hairston
Public Relations Chair, Breauna D. Johnson
Leadership Chair, Diamond L. Martin and Dangelo N. Greenfield
Historian, Nidia G. Hernandez
Secretary, Dionna L. Scott 
Vice President, Jasmine R. Basnight, Jaliyah N. Sinkler and Jayden Riley
President, Nastassja D. Morton and Zyon W. Pye

Recognition of Graduating Fellows (December 2020 and May 2021)
Graduating seniors are presented with a keychain. “Chowan University” and the “Chowan Fellows Student Association” are engraved on the keychain. The graduating seniors are:

Amisha Barnes
Jasmine Basnight
Kiana Bowditch
Alijah Clark
Tatyana Corprew
Kymia Council
Shawndredi Hairston
Kalina Ham
Breauna Johnson
Eileen Mealing
Nastassja Morton
Cyndi Munguia
Natalyia Nash
Serenity Nichols
Tunisha Pender
Dionna Scott
Mary Shomper
Jaliyah Sinkler
Canadia Vinson
Zoe Walker
Bianca Wilson 

University Relations |

Posts from November 2020

November 30, 2020
Chowan University’s Graphics Department announces the recent acquisition of a new Xerox Iridesse 120 Production Press Printer. This top tier machine has several exciting features and has more capabilities than the department’s current digital press.
November 24, 2020
On Friday, November 20, 2020, Chowan University’s Graphic Communications students printed USB drives for the Fellows Seminar classes in the Horner Production Lab. This project was created after Dr. Mitchell Henke, Associate Professor of Graphic Communications, and Dr.
November 24, 2020
Chowan welcomes Ms. Sarah Alt as the University’s Assistant to the Registrar. Her mother, Dr. Shirley Alt, is the Associate Professor of Psychology and most recent recipient of the prestigious Alpha Chi Teacher of the Year Award. Sarah Alt received her B.A.
November 23, 2020
On Tuesday, November 10, 2020, Assistant Professor of Graphic Communications, Professor Jennifer Newton, was accompanied by colleagues Dr. Michelle Surerus, Professor of Graphic Communications, and Dr.